Entropy Kitchen: Chocolate Chip Cherry Cheesecake

I thought hard about which recipe to include to go with Monday’s whipped cream Kitchen Science post. In the end, I settled on this recipe, which I found on Pinterest and recently made for my family. It was very tasty, summery and involved me over-whipping cream, because I hadn’t yet written the post about why you shouldn’t do that. Nonetheless, it was still good, and to testify to this I have absolutely no photos of the cheesecake that I made, because once I had served it, it didn’t last very long.

Chocolate chip cherry cheesecake

Rather than typing out the recipe here, I shall refer you to the original post. I followed Steph’s suggestion and didn’t make the ganache for the top, and it was still absolutely yummy. Light and creamy and delicious. I also had to use tinned cherries, because fresh cherries are out of season at the moment, and I couldn’t get hold of any.  I’d like to try again with fresh cherries though. I also used larger chunks of chocolate than the recipe advised, mainly because I had bought chocolate chunks from Waitrose, and I was in a hurry to make some scones after the cheesecake so I just chucked them in! I quite liked the bigger chunks though, because I’m a chocolate fiend.

Finally, I am including below my standard non-bake cheesecake base recipe. I found  the base of this cheesecake to be a bit crumbly and dry for my personal taste (I like BUTTER, darn it), so if I make it in future I’m going to make the base my way. If you prefer a less buttery base though, I would use the original recipe, here.

Overall, this was SUCH a yummy dessert, I definitely want to try it again. I’m also interested in trying it with raspberry and white chocolate, or blueberry and milk chocolate. The cheesecake possibilities are endless, and luckily now I know why I should stop whipping the cream when it looks finished!

Basic cheesecake biscuit base

12 digestive biscuit
85g butter
1 tbsp golden syrup

This is a very straightforward recipe. Melt the butter and syrup together. Crush the biscuits into crumbs. Mix the butter and syrup into the biscuits, then press into the base of your cheesecake tin. Pop in the fridge until your topping is ready. YUM.

Leave a Reply

