Entropy Kitchen: Caramelised Red Onion and Goat’s Cheese Tarts

I adore red onions, particularly caramelised red onions. Every single time my husband makes homemade pizza I explain to him, and anyone in the vicinity, how I married him at least partly for the fact that he makes me goat’s cheese and caramelised onion pizza. And also because he makes amazing cheesy mustard mashed potato, which isn’t relevant here, but is very often relevant in my married life.

Anyway, my obsession with caramelised onions has led to us developing a recipe for perfect caramelised red onion jam in our house, and the perfect goat’s cheese and red onion tarts. I say us, it is mainly my husband who makes the red onion jam, and has perfected this recipe, for the aforementioned pizza topping, but it was me who used it to make goat’s cheese and red onions tart, which are tasty. To be honest, and I have also eaten it spread on a cracker more than once. YUM.

This is actually a super simple recipe, too, which I like. It’s nearly impossible for me to mess this up, although not entirely impossible. Pan full of burnt onions, anyone?

Caramelised red onion jam

1 portion of puff pastry (homemade or bought, totally your shout)
1 packet of goat’s cheese
1 tbsp olive oil
3 red onions, sliced thinly
5 tablespoons soft brown sugar
150 ml balsamic vinegar

Take your onions out of the fridge or freezer, where you’ll obviously have been keeping them cold to try and prevent eye stinging and tears. Chop them up, then add them to a pan with the oil and cook, stirring occasionally, for 5 mins. Just as they start to brown at the edges, add the sugar and stir until it’s dissolved, then add the vinegar and simmer until the mixture becomes sticky and jam-like. The thickness of your jam is up to you at this point.

While the onion jam is cooling, roll out your puffy pastry and cut into circles or rectangles, or hearts or stars whatever shape you want your tarts to be. About 2cm in from the edge of the pastry, score a line all the way round. Pop the tarts on a baking tray in the oven at 180oC until they’re just golden brown. At this point, I’ve been sneaking spoonfuls of onion jam for the last 10 mins.

Take the tarts out of the oven, and you should be able to lift out the middle, where you scored your line. Fill the tarts with onion jam, and top with blobs of goat’s cheese. Stick them back in the oven for 5-10 mins to warm and melt the cheese.

Devour.

I wish I had a photo of these tarts to show you, but I’m really awful at remembering to photograph food I want to feature on the blog. I’m just altogether too keen on eating it!

Leave a Reply

